

BRITISH COLUMBIA UTILITIES COMMISSION

ORDER

NUMBER G-21-11

TELEPHONE: (604) 660-4700 BC TOLL FREE: 1-800-663-1385 FACSIMILE: (604) 660-1102

SIXTH FLOOR, 900 HOWE STREET, BOX 250 VANCOUVER, BC V6Z 2N3 CANADA web site: http://www.bcuc.com

IN THE MATTER OF the Utilities Commission Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, Chapter 473

and

an Application by The Corporation of the City of Nelson for Approval of Electrical Utility Amendment By-Law No. 3181, 2011

BEFORE: L.F. Kelsey, Commissioner

D.A. Cote, Commissioner

D. Morton, Commissioner

February 17, 2011

ORDER

WHEREAS:

- A. On January 26, 2011, the Corporation of the City of Nelson (the City) applied to the British Columbia Utilities Commission (the Commission) for approval of an Electrical Utility Amendment By-Law to increase its electrical rates by 9.6 percent, effective April 1, 2011;
- B. The By-Law rate schedules include rates pertaining to the provision of electrical service to customers inside and outside of its municipal boundaries. The By-Law received its Third Reading on January 24, 2011;
- C. The electrical utility rate increase is required due to increases in operating costs, including an increase in power purchase costs from its supplier FortisBC Inc., that was approved by Commission Order G-184-10 and G-195-10;
- D. The Commission has reviewed the By-Law and rate schedules and finds that an electrical utility rate increase is necessary.

NOW THEREFORE the Commission orders as follows:

1. The Commission approves for the City of Nelson and accepts for filing Electrical Utility Amendment By-Law No. 3181, 2011 incorporating a 9.6 percent rate increase to customers outside of the City's municipal boundaries, effective April 1, 2011.

BRITISH COLUMBIA UTILITIES COMMISSION

ORDER

NUMBER G-21-11

2

- 2. The City, by way of a customer notice included in the next billing, is to inform customers of the rate increase.
- 3. The City is to provide the Commission with a final certified copy of the By-Law following all approvals.

DATED at the City of Vancouver, in the Province of British Columbia, this 21st day of February 2011.

BY ORDER

Original signed by:

D. Morton Commissioner