



ERICA HAMILTON
COMMISSION SECRETARY
Commission.Secretary@bcuc.com
web site: http://www.bcuc.com

SIXTH FLOOR, 900 HOWE STREET, BOX 250 VANCOUVER, BC CANADA V6Z 2N3 TELEPHONE: (604) 660-4700 BC TOLL FREE: 1-800-663-1385 FACSIMILE: (604) 660-1102

Log No. 42167

VIA EMAIL

bchydroregulatorygroup@bchydro.com

December 20, 2012

Ms. Janet Fraser Chief Regulatory Officer British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority 16th Floor, 333 Dunsmuir Street Vancouver, BC V6B 5R3

Dear Ms. Fraser:

Re: British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority (BC Hydro)
Remote Community Electrification Program
Electricity Purchase Agreement between
BC Hydro and Gitga'at Economic Limited Partnership

On December 14, 2012, pursuant to Section 71 of the *Utilities Commission Act* (UCA), BC Hydro filed with the Commission an Electricity Purchase Agreement between BC Hydro and Gitga'at Economic Limited Partnership (Seller), made as of November 21, 2012 (EPA). Under the EPA, BC Hydro will purchase electricity generated by the Seller's 0.95 megawatt micro-hydro project for the purpose of serving the remote community of Hartley Bay.

Section 71 of the UCA does not require a hearing before the Commission may accept an energy supply contract for filing. BC Hydro submits that a hearing is not required for this EPA filing because the EPA does not result in any incremental costs to ratepayers and is in the public interest for the reasons set out in the filing.

BC Hydro, when making its EPA filing, provided a copy to Gitga'at First Nation, Gitxaala Nation and past interveners from BC Hydro proceedings. BC Hydro suggests that if stakeholders who received a copy of the EPA filing wish to comment on the EPA, that they be provided with an opportunity to do so within 30 days as is consistent with the established practice for Remote Community Electrification applications for certificates of public convenience and necessity.

The Commission considers an opportunity for stakeholders to comment is warranted. The Commission wishes to receive stakeholder comments on this EPA, if any, by **Thursday**, **January 31**, **2013**. The comments can be made in writing, or electronically via email to the Commission Secretary (Commission.Secretary@bcuc.com).

After the comment period deadline, the Commission will make a determination on the EPA.

Yours truly,

Erica Hamilton

DC/tk cc:

Chief Arnold Clifton, Gitga'at First Nation

wii_hai_waas@bell.blackberry.net

Chief Elmer Moody, Gitxaala Nation elmoody@gitxaalanation.com

David Benton, Gitga'at First Nation davidbenton@gitgaat.net

William J. Andrews, BCSEA wjandrews@shaw.ca

Leigha Worth, BCPSO Iworth@bcpiac.com support@bcpiac.com

David Craig, CECBC dwcraig@allstream.net

Brian Wallace, AMPC rbw@bht.com

Christopher P. Weafer, CECBC cweafer@owenbird.com

Richard Stout, AMPC roninconsult@live.com