

ORDER NUMBER G-1-17

IN THE MATTER OF the Utilities Commission Act, RSBC 1996, Chapter 473

and

FortisBC Alternative Energy Services Inc. Stream A Registration for the Aperture Thermal Energy System

BEFORE:

H. G. Harowitz, Commissioner/Panel Chair B. A. Magnan, Commissioner R. D. Revel, Commissioner

on January 4, 2017

ORDER

WHEREAS:

- A. On December 6, 2016, FortisBC Alternative Energy Services Inc. (FAES) filed with the British Columbia Utilities Commission (Commission) an application to register the Aperture Stream A Thermal Energy System, in accordance with the Thermal Energy Systems (TES) Regulatory Framework Guidelines (TES Guidelines) Requirements;
- B. On August 28, 2014, the Commission issued Order G-127-14 approving the TES Guidelines;
- C. Under section 2.1 of the TES Guidelines, a Stream A TES is defined as: An On-Site TES with an Initial Capital Cost above \$500,000 but less than \$15,000,000 is exempt from sections 44.1, 45 and 59-61 of the UCA. TES Providers are required to register Stream A TES prior to building or otherwise acquiring the Stream A TES;
- D. The Commission has reviewed the application and is satisfied that Aperture TES meets the characteristics of a Stream A TES and is suitable for exemption from sections 44.1, 45 and 59-61 of the *Utilities Commission Act* (UCA).

NOW THEREFORE pursuant to section 88(3) of the *Utilities Commission Act* and by the advance approval of the Lieutenant Governor in Council (OIC 400), the British Columbia Utilities Commission orders as follows:

- 1. In accordance with the Thermal Energy Systems (TES) Regulatory Framework Guidelines, the Aperture TES is exempt from sections 44.1, 45 and 59-61 of the *Utilities Commission Act*.
- 2. FortisBC Alternative Energy Services Inc. must file with the Commission, an annual report for the Aperture

TES project in accordance with Stream A annual reporting guidelines as provided in Appendix B of the TES Regulatory Framework Guidelines, with the first report to be filed on or before February 15, 2017.

DATED at the City of Vancouver, in the Province of British Columbia, this 4th day of January 2017.

BY ORDER

Original signed by:

H. G. Harowitz Commissioner